Not to use PowerPoint and the taking of notes during a presentation

Seth Godin writes today an interesting piece about: “Nine steps to PowerPoint magic“. In it, he gives nine tips about how to use PowerPoint to deliver great presentations. I want to talk about 2 of these tips, one I agree with very much, and the second, I am not quite sure about.

The first and most important tip Godin gives is not to use PowerPoint at all. In his words:

Don’t use Powerpoint at all. Most of the time, it’s not necessary. It’s underkill. Powerpoint distracts you from what you really need to do… look people in the eye, tell a story, tell the truth. Do it in your own words, without artifice and with clarity. There are times Powerpoint is helpful, but choose them carefully.

Today, you can see many organizations that have fallen in love with the format of a PowerPoint presentation. There are some organizations in which it is expected (or worse – mandatory) to deliver information using Powerpoint. Many organizations created templates and rules about how to use this instrument which have nothing to do with giving a good presentation. PowerPoint usage has become a standard. Usually a bad one.

The problem with PowerPoint is that it is a tool that does not always fit the circumstances. Talking to an audience differs depending on the circumstances. Giving an inspirational speech about an idea and teaching something is not the same. Talking to 100 people is not the same as talking to 3 people. Not mentioning the differences in subject matter.

I remember when PowerPoint was starting to be used for giving classes in the one of the schools of the Israeli Air force where I was serving (yes, near the end of the last millennium). The commander of the unit was so impressed with intertwining new technology into the curriculum that he ordered every department in the unit to take at least three classes and build a PowerPoint presentation for them. I was talking to the officer in charge of guidance development and he told me this was an erroneous order, because PowerPoint should be used only if it can contribute to the class and improving it. It should not be a default setting.

I think it can be explained very easily if you think about a megaphone. Sometimes, a megaphone helps in making the crowd hear you and understand you. It is a great tool, if you are standing outside and talking to a large crowd. But if you are in a small room trying to talk to a small number of people, it would just seem ridiculous. The same is true with PowerPoint. Sometimes, it just makes you seem ridiculous.

If PowerPoint can contribute to your message or there is something visual you need to show your audience, use it, other wise you should think twice about using it. If you chose to use it, think carefully how to do it. PowerPoint can be used in different manners not only in the standard format we a used to seeing. For example, see here for using PowerPoint for presentations in small groups.

In the last weeks I have seen two great presentations that did not use PowerPoint at all. They did not need it. One is Malcolm Gladwell’s speech “Genius: 2012“. The second is Sir Ken Robinson’s speech “Do schools kill creativity?

The second tip Godin talks about deals with note taking by the audience:

Too breathtaking to take notes. If people are liveblogging, twittering or writing down what you’re saying, I wonder if your presentation is everything it could be. After all, you could have saved everyone the trouble and just blogged it/note-taken it for them, right? We’ve been trained since youth to replace paying attention with taking notes. That’s a shame. Your actions should demand attention (hint: bullets demand note-taking. The minute you put bullets on the screen, you are announcing, “write this down, but don’t really pay attention now.”) People don’t take notes when they go to the opera.

Not that I have a problem with it, but I think Godin sets the bar a little high this time.

First, even if you are the best presenter in the world and have the most compelling message, there will still be some fluctuations in your presentation. And it is Ok that people write down things while during these fluctuations. Most people can write an idea down and continue to listen at the same time.

Second, Godin claims that a presentation should not be longer than 10 minutes. I am not sure that is always possible. But even in a 10 minutes presentation, the important idea is much shorter and usually repeats it self a number of times, because we all know the importance of repeation in presentations. The second time the same idea is presented – don’t you want your audience to write it down.

Third, I know that for me personally, when I feel like I have something to write down, it means the presentation is interesting and contributes to me. In the two aforementioned presentations I watched, I felt the urge to write some of the ideas down for later use during the speech.

Fourth, and more importantly, as Godin himself says – “We’ve been trained since youth to replace paying attention with taking notes. That’s a shame” – Maybe it is a shame. But that is the way people work – when you are presenting you should take that into notice. The all point of presenting is to create value for the listeners. I prefer they write own my main idea and remember it than having their full attention all the time and than having them forget my message afterwards because for some people the opposite of forgetting is writing.

 Elad

27 Responses to “Not to use PowerPoint and the taking of notes during a presentation”

  1. Lisa Braithwaite Says:

    Elad, I agree with you on the point about taking notes (wanted to pick my battles on my blog, so skipped over this one!).

    I am a note-taker. I actually learn better when I’m writing notes. I’m not an auditory learner, so to just listen to someone speak isn’t good enough for me, and I WILL forget everything. To write down notes reinforces the words visually and helps me to remember.

    If people take notes during my talk, or don’t take notes, who am I to say what should or shouldn’t work for them?

  2. sherfelad Says:

    Thanks Lisa.
    I am very happy you took the time to leave a reply.
    I guess each of us writes about what he feels is most important.
    In Hebrew we have a saying that I will distort a little for our purpose: “there isn’t one truth in presentations”.
    I downloaded your E-book toady and I am anxiously waiting to read it!

    Have fun!

    Elad

  3. Remarkable? Depressing. Stay positive! « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] A few days ago I wrote here about a post by Seth regarding PowerPoint presentations and how to make them remarkable. One of his […]

  4. Never start with the slides « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] process helps me remember something very important about using slides. The slides are not the presentation. I am. The idea is. The story is. The words I will say will be. The slides are just a tool. You can […]

  5. Best posts on The Comparative Advantage for 2009 (and a little more) « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] Not to use PowerPoint and the taking of notes during a presentation […]

  6. Garcinia Cambogia For weight Loss Says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking
    back frequently!

  7. Drusilla Says:

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  8. lemon law arbitration Says:

    I enjoy, cause I found exactly what I was having a look
    for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  9. ft lauderdale condos Says:

    magnificent points altogether, you just received a emblem new reader.
    What could you suggest in regards to your publish that you made
    some days in the past? Any positive?

  10. orthodontic info Says:

    Hi there, I found your web site by the use of Google even as searching for a comparable subject, your site came up, it appears great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply become aware of your weblog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful for those who continue this in future.
    Many other people will possible be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  11. twitter followers Says:

    This is a topic which is near to my heart.. Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?. twitter followers it will probably be a very prudent financial commitment for
    your enterprise.
    make twitter profile, buying twitter followers, raise admirers.

  12. kostenlos verkaufen Says:

    Sei gespannt auf attraktive Jungs und Mädels, die nicht länger allein sein wollen.

    Spannender Fessel Sex wird dich um den Verstand bringen
    und unsere heißen Singles können dich schon bald als Sexsklave nehmen.
    Über 4 Millionen Mitglieder, darunter zahlreiche Singles, Hausfrauen,
    Studentinnen und Studenten, findest Du in unserer
    Kontaktbörse.

  13. rnpfr233.woobi.co.kr Says:

    Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you
    amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account
    helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea.

  14. get more views on youtube Says:

    You can definitely see your expertise in the article you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how
    they believe. Always go after your heart.
    get more views on youtube help out with boosting customer base, search engine rankings, etc .

    produce youtube bank account, get youtube views, raise views.

    buy real youtube views is definitely good for your own personal youtube marketing

  15. Adrienne Says:

    I think everything published was actually very reasonable.

    But, think about this, suppose you composed a catchier post title?
    I ain’t suggesting your content is not good. buy cheap youtube views (Adrienne)
    supplies quality public solutions.
    get more views on youtube for cheap and quickly,
    Come on Enthusiasts for your profile.
    Have you quietly wondered how to buy youtube views cheap on youtube?

    , however what if you added a post title that
    makes people desire more? I mean Not to use PowerPoint and
    the taking of notes during a presentation | The Comparative Advantage is a little vanilla.
    You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and
    note how they create post headlines to get people interested.
    You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to grab
    people interested about what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might bring your
    website a little livelier. buy youtube likes in youtube to develop your personal enthusiasts easily.

    buy youtube likes it will be a very wise investment decision
    for your business.
    buy views on youtube help out with growing consumer bottom,
    search engine ranking positions, and so on

  16. get free instagram followers fast Says:

    That is really fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for more of your wonderful post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks.
    get free instagram followers fast about instagram Risk-free and in the major
    instagram endorsements service provider.
    instagram followers without having providing your personal
    security password as well as following other individuals.

  17. youtube Says:

    Hiya very cool web site!! Guy . Beautiful . Wonderful .

    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?
    I am glad to find a lot of helpful info here in the post, we need work
    out more techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.

    . . . . . youtube
    youtube

  18. instagram Says:

    It’s very easy to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I found this article at this website.
    instagram
    instagram

  19. facebook Says:

    It’s an amazing post for all the online users; they will get advantage from it I am sure.

    facebook
    facebook
    facebook

  20. instagram Says:

    Thanks in favor of sharing such a pleasant thinking, post is good,
    thats why i have read it completely. instagram
    instagram

  21. youtube Says:

    I think everything said was actually very logical. However,
    what about this?. youtube
    youtube
    suppose you typed a catchier post title? I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t solid.

    youtube
    youtube
    , but suppose you added something to possibly grab people’s attention?.
    youtube
    youtube
    youtube
    I mean Not to use PowerPoint and the taking of notes during a presentation | The Comparative Advantage is kinda plain.
    You should look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create article titles to grab viewers to
    click. You might try adding a video or a related picture or
    two to get readers excited about what you’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it would bring your blog a little livelier.
    youtube
    youtube
    youtube

  22. Bertie J. Egizi Says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.

    Look forward to checking out your web page again.

  23. Meghan G. Mcclarin Says:

    I have read so many posts about the blogger lovers however this piece of writing is really a good paragraph,
    keep it up.

  24. instagram Says:

    What’s up everybody, here every one is sharing such experience,
    thus it’s good to read this blog, and I used to pay a
    quick visit this webpage daily. instagram
    instagram

  25. Estrella Y. Cambia Says:

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this web page is
    really nice and the users are really sharing good thoughts.

  26. Stepanie X. Shoat Says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about blog.
    Regards

  27. Vikki K. Villatoro Says:

    I quite like looking through an article that can make men and women think.
    Also, thank you for allowing me to comment!


Leave a Reply

