Are you ready?

447122802_3091fff0f4

Photo by Adam Baker

A few days ago I read a manifesto called: “On the Road from Dreams to Destiny” written by Rickey Minor, the music director of American Idol. It is an interesting manifesto, with fascinating stories about Minor’s experience. One paragraph caught my eye:

I wasn’t ready for the opportunity. It made me consequently ask myself, ‘What do I need to do to be ready?’ It is a question that we need to frequently pose again and again whenever an opportunity to learn and grow presents itself. We need to maintain the willingness to stick our necks out and try something new.

That made me think. How ready are we, as managers and leaders? Honestly ask yourself: if someone will come today and offer me a new way to manage my employees, will I try it? If somebody will present me with a new way to engage with my followers, will I take it? The world is changing all time. The change creates challenges. But it also creates opportunities.  We need to take them, even it means we have to try something new. More importantly, we have to take them, even if it means that sometimes we will fail.

Elad

2 Responses to “Are you ready?”

  1. A few lessons you can learn from John Wooden « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] that are necessary to make those things become a reality“. A few posts ago I asked “are you ready?” – To listen, to change, to do, to fail. As Samuel Beckett wrote in his novel Worstward Ho: […]


Leave a comment