Do. Or Do not!

[tweetmeme]

A few weeks back I was working on a presentation about coaching I was supposed to give in one my MBA classes. One of my teammates and I were looking at ideas for a video clip we can use to simulate and explain some of the concepts of coaching we were planning to discuss. Then he suggested that we use the above clip. Now… I know. Yoda Wisdom. So 1980’s. But it is a great clip and something most people are familiar with. We ended up not using it (We used another great clip from the Matrix). But this clip has been in mind ever since:

No! Try not! Do. Or do not!

If you would have asked me a few years ago, I would have told you that this is about success. You are not going to try you are going to succeed. Failure is not an option. Something akin to today’s power of positive thinking. But now I think that if I would have said that, I would have been wrong.

G.K Chesterton wrote in 1910:

If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly

Our fear should not be of failure. Our focus should not be on success. Doing anything, in life or in business, is about more than just trying to succeed and avoiding failure. It is about being there. It is about fully committing to something. Yes, we will fail. Yes, sometimes we won’t succeed or do badly. But we have to be able to say – we did it. Fully. With all our hearts. With everything we got. We did not just try to do our best. We did our best! Then, it is worth something.

So many things in life we do in a kind of apathy. Yes, we try different things. We think about issues. We want to be a success. But how many times in life you can say you were full there. Doing whatever it is you were doing. I wish I could say a lot. It is time I do something about it. Not just try, really do.

So, how about you? Do you try or do you do?

Elad

Do. Or Do not!

[tweetmeme]

A few weeks back I was working on a presentation about coaching I was suppose to give in one my MBA classes. One of my teammates and I were looking at ideas for a video clip we can use to simulate and explain some of the concepts of coaching we were planning to discuss. Then he suggested that we use the above clip. Now… I know. Yoda Wisdom. So 1980’s. But it is a great clip and something most people are familiar with. We ended up not using it (We used another great clip from the Matrix). But this clip has been in mind ever since:

No! Try not! Do. Or do not!

If you would have asked me a few years ago, I would have told you that this is about success. You are not going to try you are going to succeed. Failure is not an option. Something akin to today’s power of positive thinking. But now I think that if I would have said that, I would have been wrong.

G.K Chesterton wrote in 1910:

If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly

Our fear should not be of failure. Our focus should not be on success. Doing anything, in life or in business, is about more than just trying to succeed and avoiding failure. It is about being there. It is about fully committing to something. Yes, we will fail. Yes, sometimes we won’t succeed or do badly. But we have to be able to day – we did it. Fully. With all our hearts. With everything we got. We did not just try to do our best. We did our best! Then, it is worth something.

So many things in life we do in a kind of apathy. Yes, we try different things. We think about issues. We want to be a success. But how many times in life you can say you were full there. Doing whatever it is you were doing. I wish I could say a lot. It is time I do something about it. Not just try, really do.

So, how about you? Do you try or do you do?

Elad

Leave a Reply

