Stopping, vacation and maybe goodbye

Photo by Peter Kaminski

I started this blog almost three years ago. I felt I had things to say, and more importantly, I felt I had things to think. It has been with me for all this time and has become a part of who I am, how I define myself and how I think about my life and work.

Around 400 posts later, I feel smarter and more engaged than ever. I also feel grateful, for comments, readers, recommenders and the learning that accompanied the process. This blog allowed me to connect, personally and intellectually with many people – some I have met before and interacted more deeply with, some I have never met. I am grateful to be living in times that allow me to do all that and maybe, just maybe, influence the world for the better.

Writing a blog is not an easy task. Keeping at it, around three posts every week, takes its toll, emotionally, intellectually and in terms of time. As I have been going at it mostly for myself, I now stand in a point where I have to consider if this project, with all its wonderful benefits, is still the right thing for me to do.

On August 1st, I will start working towards my Ph.D. in Organizational Behavior. This means major changes in my life and I am afraid this blog will be affected. I still don’t know how my schedule and demands are going to look like. However, I am considering devoting my full attention, both emotionally and intellectually, to the Ph.D.

At this point I am going to take a vacation from writing on this blog until September 1st, at which point I will reconsider whether I desire and am able to continue writing here. Currently, I feel like this post will be last one on this blog. I am, however, keeping my options open.

Even if I do decide to stop blogging professionally, I am sure this will be a medium I will return to in the future. I have come to a point where I am less happy when I’m not interacting with the Internet.

I want to thank all my readers and commenters for following, engaging and interacting with me. It has been a great pleasure for me to be involved in a relationship with you. I hope to meet you and interact further with you in the future.

You can always find me on Sherf.elad at Gmail.com and follow my other blog-project (which will continue): The Secular Bible Blog.

Elad

Leave a Reply

