The leader-manager dilemma

Today we had a very interesting session in class dealing with leadership. Every person of our 60 people class had to walk up and talk for about a minute about one important characteristic of a good leader that they think they embody. Now, I know this sounds a bit corny, but the main issue was getting people to speak about themselves and see their presentation skills as well as getting the know everybody.

There were some very interesting presentations and many people talked about important characteristics: Well organized, a good listener, Able to take harsh decision under pressure, passionate, determination, confidence, delegating of authority and more.

But the process and the above mentioned list did get me thinking about the difference between leadership and management. A lot of people mix them. Do leaders really need to be well organized? Or have confidence? I can think of a few leaders who aren’t. I do think it is more important for a manger to have these characteristics.

 I was wandering why people mix the two definitions (actually the words are sometimes used as synonyms). I think it is because in too many roles, people are expected to be both. The problem is it is hard to be both.

I think leadership and management are different. I really like Marcus Buckingham‘s theory in the book “The one thing you need to know“, claiming that managers’ role is to find the strength of every employee and do what they can to allow him exploit it to excellence while leaders are agent of change, their role is to paint a vivid picture of the future in order to dissipate the our natural fear of the unknown and the uncertain.

Recently, I read Seth Godin‘s book “Tribes“, where he writes:

Management is about manipulating resources to get a known job done… Managers manage a process they’ve seen before, and they react to the outside world, striving to make that process as fast and as cheap as possible. Leadership, on the other hand, is about creating change that you believe in… Leaders have followers. Mangers have employees. Managers make widgets. Leaders make change…

So why is the difference important?  If you accept that there is a difference then you accept that there are different talents, skills and knowledge for each group. That means that usually, we cannot expect the same people to do both. But so many roles do. Instead of finding out what is more important to the success of the role, there is an attempt to achieve both, which ends up in an average result. And average, in our society, is just not good enough. So I think this is another conventional wisdom that needs to be broken.

Elad

10 Responses to “The leader-manager dilemma”

  1. Jonathan Blackwell Says:

    Elad!

    That was a very powerful day, wasn’t it? I also loved your post on facebook today after more BBQ and drinks with the AGSMites. It’s a marathon!

    I look forward to furthering our definintions of managers and leaders,

    Jonathan

  2. sherfelad Says:

    Thanks Jonathan,
    Glad you liked it…
    I am always happy to discuss thing like managment and leadership… :)… see you soon
    Elad

  3. Manager? What do you mean by that? « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] Or you might need to ability to make hard decisions in short times. Or you might need to have leadership qualities.  And sometimes you might need to have entrepreneurship qualities. But not always. It depends on […]

  4. Iconoclast « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] The second one is the importance of leadership. I already mentioned that I strongly believe that the most important role of a leader is, as Markus Buckingham describes […]

  5. Should we set goals as leaders or as managers? « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] made me think again about what I believe is the difference between leaders and managers. Leaders should deal with the future, with creating a clear picture of the world in order to […]

  6. Leader=manager? « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] on day by day basis? Most people in firms that get to a key role are managers, not leaders. It requires different talents and skills to be a great manager than those needed to be a great leade…. And you know what? There is only a handful of people who can do both really well. It makes sense. […]

  7. Do you treat you employees like kings? « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] usual, I think this confuses managers with leaders, because they have different roles. I think you should change to word leader in the quote to […]

  8. How does a Judo Fighter act at home? « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] got me thinking on a subject I touched upon a number of times in this blog. The difference between managers and leaders, the expectation that all managers will do both and the problems that this approach […]

  9. Confusing leadership « The Comparative Advantage Says:

    […] Those of you who have been following my blog must be smiling, as you know this is a subject I write about a lot and feel comfortable talking about. So, although I did not get the job, I do feel that my answer to […]


Leave a comment